Collection days & bank holidays

Please leave your refuse and recycling on the edge of your property by 7am (as collection times can vary) and no earlier than the night before.

To look up your collection days, click on the area below:
Mendip

Sedgemoor
South Somerset (enter postcode in YOUR AREA)
Taunton Deane
West Somerset

Revised collection days for Bank and Public holidays
For single bank holidays, such as those in May and August, all collections (including clinical waste) will be one day later than usual, for example, Monday collections on Tuesday and Friday collections on Saturday.

There are no garden waste collections in the two weeks following ChristmasThere is no garden waste collection service for a two week period from Monday 29 December 2014, recommencing on Monday 12 January 2015.

A revised collections time-table  for Christmas 2014 and 2015 is available to download: Bank holiday 2014~15 flyer (pdf 18 kb).

No change to subsequent dates, all collections resume on usual days.  Revised collection days above also apply to clinical waste collections.

Bank Holiday revised collection days, 2014~15

Usual collection day Revised collection day
Monday 22 December 2014 No change, usual collections
Tuesday 23 December 2014 No change, usual collections
Wednesday 24 December 2014 No change, usual collections
Thursday 25 December 2014 Saturday 27 December 2014
Friday 26 December 2014 Sunday 28 December 2014
Monday 29 December 2014 No change, usual collections
Tuesday 30 December 2014 No change, usual collections
Wednesday 31 December 2014 No change, usual collections
Thursday 1 January 2015 Friday 2 January 2015
Friday 2 January 2015 Saturday 3 January 2015
Monday 5 January 2015 Usual collections resume
Usual collection day Revised collection day
Good Friday 3 April 2015 Saturday 4 April 2015
Easter Monday 6 April – Friday 10 April 2015 All collections one day later, including Friday pick-ups on Saturday 11 May 2015
Early May Bank Holiday Monday 4 May – Friday 8 May 2015 All collections one day later, including Friday pick-ups on Saturday 9 May 2015
Spring Bank Holiday Monday 25 May – Friday 29 May 2015 All collections one day later, including Friday pick-ups on Saturday 30 May 2015
Summer Bank Holiday Monday 31 August – Friday 4 September 2015
All collections one day later, including Friday pick-ups on Saturday 5 September 2015

In severe weather, check our website or local radio for information.

Recycling Centres and Community Recycling Sites

Visit our Recycling Centre opening times page or call Somerset Direct on 0845 345 9188 for recycling centre opening times. All sites are closed Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year’s Day.

Disposing of your natural Christmas trees

Decoration-free natural Christmas trees under 6ft can be recycled.  If you pay for garden waste collections, put out your tree next to your bin or sack on your usual garden waste collection day for composting. Or take decoration-free natural trees to any recycling site for composting. For landfill disposal, put out your tree next to your refuse on your usual collections day between 5-16 January 2015.